A workout shared is a workout halved

Leave a comment

November 13, 2013 by Katie

20131113-201514.jpg

I don’t know bout you, but sometimes I just hit a brick wall with my training. No matter what I do, I can’t find the motivation to have a workout and get a lot out of it.

My solution? Get some friends together and workout!

On Sunday I hadn’t had much sleep after socializing the night before but it was such a lovely day, it would’ve seemed a shame to waste it moping inside. So I asked my flatmate if she wanted to head up the Naenae Firebreaks (a very steep hill climb that takes around 1.5 hours return). She was keen and text a couple of our friends to join us.

Alone, the firebreaks are a mental challenge for me, I push myself to jog to the next corner then the next and the next. But this time it was different. We were all egging each other on, there was a positive vibe happening between the four of us that just kept pushing us up. In no time, we were at the summit, looking out at the stunning view and high-fiving each other.

Of course, we made the most of it as you can see in the pictures. We tried some Beyonce moves, some twerking (I know…) and even some hillside press ups. There is no reason working out can’t involve fun!

You know that saying ‘a problem shared is a problem halved’? Well I think it applies with working out too. Kick that problem workout out of the way and make it fun with a friend! You’ll find it goes way faster and high-fiving someone else is always way more fun than high-fiving the mirror šŸ˜‰

Leave a comment